Our governors, have three main roles:

To provide strategic direction for the work we do at BDB and its improvement.

To support, monitor and evaluate the effectiveness of the work we do in school.

To hold the school to account for the standards achieved and the quality of education.

Governance Structure

Local Governing Body (LGB)

Bishop David Browns LGB is made up as follows:-

Members appointed by Unity Schools Trust, to include the Chair – usually people with a
local connection or interest who are committed to supporting educational opportunity in the area.

  • 1 member of Unity
  • Schools Trust
  • Head of School
  • Parent governors
  • Staff governors
  • Community Governors

Our aim is to create a balanced group with a range of skills and connections to work with and support the school in achieving excellence.

Resources Committee

The committee key focus is to ensure that the school is offering value for all elements of the work it does. Particular emphasis is placed on whether the school focusses its resources on the key strategic priorities set out in the school development plan.

The committee is made up of the following governors:-
Samantha Broad
Laura Cook
Fiona Munday
Alexandra Munday
James Rodgers

Student Experience Committee

The committee looks at the academic and pastoral elements of the school. Reports are given on the schools present academic performance and the developments the school is naming in relation to teaching and learning. A further area is ensuring that safeguarding practise and procedure are robust.

The committee is made up of the following governors:-
Cliff Bush
Chris Howorth
David O’Brien
George Pincus
Jackie Richmond
Christina Simmons
James Rodgers